Posted by Decapitated Dan |

The 2013 Ghastly Award Winners!

The 2013 Ghastly Award Winners

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2013 Ghastly Awards. The Ghastly Award Judges chose the nominees from the books submitted by Comic Creators and Publishers throughout 2013. Winners were chosen by the Judges, Comic Book Creators and the Fans. The Ghastly Judicial Panel congratulates all 2013 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.

The 2013 Winners are:

Best Ongoing Title:
Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)

Best Mini-Series:
Locke & Key: Omega (IDW Publishing)

Best One-Shot: 
Edgar Allan Poe: The Raven & The Red Death (Dark Horse)

Best New Series (Fan Voting Decided the Winner):
Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)

Best Anthology:
Bloke's Terrible Tomb of Terror (Independent)

Best OGN:
Hellboy: The Midnight Circus (Dark Horse)

Best Archival Collection: 
Steve Ditko Monsters Vol. 1: Gorgo (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)

Best Writer:  
Joe Hill (Locke & Key: Omega)

Best Artist:
Richard Corben (Edgar Allan Poe's: The Raven and the Red Death)

Best Inker:
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)

Best Letterer:
Clem Robins (B.P.R.D., Baltimore, Hellboy in Hell, The Strain)

Best Colorist:
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)

Best Web Comic:
The Last Halloween (

Hall of Fame Inductees:
Gene Colan
Archie Goodwin
Named for acclaimed comics creator "Ghastly" Graham Ingels, the Awards are in their 4th year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, Comic Creators and Publishers can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators and Fans to decide the winners.

We thank everyone who took the time to vote in the 2013 Awards. The submission process is now open for the 2014 Awards!

We congratulate all of the Winners and Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community. To be nominated by your comic book creating peers is a big honor and the Ghastly Awards are here to celebrate your achievements.

For more information on the Ghastly Awards, or to submit your horror comics for the 2014 Award season please go to